Minutes — August 2020 Public Policy Committee Meeting

Council and Committee Meetings


  • Committee Members Present
  • Lora Taylor, Committee Chair
  • Hunter Adkins
  • Ronnie Browning
  • Paul Cardarella
  • Kristen Cox
  • Mary Durheim, Council Chair
  • Mary Faithfull, DRTx
  • Randell Resneder
  • Eric Shahid
  • Amy Sharp, UT-CDS
  • Kim Torres
  • Dalun Zhang, TAMU-CDD
  • Dana Williamson, HHSC, Title XIX/Medicaid
  • Committee Members Absent
  • Michael Peace
  • Guests Present
  • Richard Atkinson
  • Joey Gidseg
  • Rebecca Japko
  • Laura Marquez
  • Jeff Miller
  • Jolene Sanders-Foster
  • Kami Shahid
  • Jennifer Toon
  • Lindsey Zischkale
  • Regional Coordinators Present
  • Morgan Bradley
  • Rosa Guel
  • Skyler Mueller
  • Anthony Ross
  • Shelby Vaughn
  • Richard Williams
  • Staff Present
  • Beth Stalvey, Executive Director
  • Scott Daigle
  • Robert Garcia
  • Lauren Gerken
  • Sabrina Gonzalez
  • Genessee Klemm
  • Linda Logan
  • Evan Marczynski
  • Sylvia Medina
  • Richard Rendon
  • Mary Rochford
  • Joshua Ryf
  • Koren Vogel
  • Rosalin Willis

Call to Order

Pursuant to the Governor’s March 16, 2020 suspension of certain provisions of the Texas Open Meetings Act, the Public Policy Committee of the Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities met virtually using the Zoom platform on Thursday, August 6, 2020. Committee Chair Lora Taylor called the meeting to order at 2:02 PM. A quorum was present.

  1. Introductions
  1. Public Comments
    Written comment was received from Kimberly Mosley, Executive Director of The Mosaic Path, introducing herself and organization to the Council.
  1. Consideration of May 7, 2020, Minutes
    The Committee reviewed the minutes from the May 7, 2020, Public Policy Committee meeting. Corrections were noted to revise the misspelling of Randell Resneder’s name.
  3. MOTION: To approve the minutes of the May 7, 2020, Public Policy Committee meeting as amended.
  4. MADE BY: Kim Torres
  5. SECOND: Hunter Adkins
  6. The motion passed unanimously.
  1. Chair’s Remarks
    Chair Taylor acknowledged the absence of Council Member Michael Peace. She discussed her activities of the previous quarter.
  1. COVID-19 Response and Challenges
    Committee members reported on quarterly activities and the challenges they have faced in response to COVID-19. They acknowledged the difficulties in ensuring that students with disabilities’ needs are met while distance learning. Committee members also discussed the mental health impact posed by the pandemic, including struggles with isolation, visitation moratoriums at congregate settings, and loss of friends and loved ones.
  1. FY 2022 – FY 2026 State Plan Discussion
    Chair Taylor gave members the opportunity to give feedback following the discussion on State Plan activities discussed during the Committee of the Whole meeting. Committee Member Paul Cardarella reported his research into the management and oversight of group homes for people with disabilities and was offered assistance by Title XIX/Medicaid representative Dana Williamson. Committee member Randell Resneder reported on his work to increase disability awareness in medical schools in the Lubbock area.
  1. TCDD Public Policy Priorities
    TCDD Public Policy Director Scott Daigle led a discussion on the TCDD Public Policy Priorities and provided guidelines for developing priorities for the 2021 session. Members discussed topics including accessibility, education, personal and civil rights, early childhood intervention services, healthcare, mental health services, and personal attendant wages. Committee Members directed TCDD staff to draft a list of priorities based on the discussion and present it for consideration at the October Council meeting.
  1. State and Federal Policy Update
    Agenda item skipped in the interest of time.
  1. Future Agenda Items
    HHSC representative Dana Williamson offered a future presentation on abuse, neglect and exploitation and the processes used for reporting and investigative purposes.
  1. Other Discussion Items
    Public Policy Director Scott Daigle reported that no grant was awarded from the second posting of the Journalism Fellows Request for Applications (RFA). Applications received from both postings did not meet the intent of the RFA. Committee members discussed the value of this potential project and reached consensus that the project should go back on the Future Funding Priorities List for additional consideration.
  3. Chair Taylor noted that the next Public Policy Committee Meeting will be moved from November to last week in October in conjunction with the other Committee and Council meetings. The final date will be announced when the schedule is set.


Committee Chair Lora Taylor adjourned the Public Policy Committee at 4:05 PM.