Untitled Document Untitled Document

Get Ready for the 85th Texas Legislative Session

Texas Legislature

 

Texas House Chamber
The Texas State House Chamber. Photo: Wikipedia

The 85th Session of the Texas Legislature begins on Tuesday, January 10, 2017, with adjournment set for Monday, May 29. Regular sessions last for 140 days in odd-numbered years, with the possibility of special sessions for up to 30 days, at the direction of the governor. With the start of bill filing on November 14, advocates can learn about the legislative process and how to affect policy by reading the information provided here.

Key Dates for the 85th Legislative Session

  • Monday, November 14, 2016 — Start of legislation prefiling
  • Tuesday, January 10, 2017 — 85th Session of Texas Legislature begins
  • Monday, May 29, 2017 — Sine Die (last day of legislative session)
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017 — Last day governor can sign or veto bills passed during regular session

How to Get Involved

Step 1: Educate Yourself

TCDD Can Help

TCDD staff will post news related to the Texas Legislature and other Public Policy issues on our Texas Legislature page.

The TCDD Legislative Advocacy Tips webpage contains information and resources from various sources to assist individuals and organizations in their advocacy efforts. This information is designed to give an overview of the basic policymaking processes in Texas and how to influence policy.

Step 2: Stay in the Loop

Step 3: Take Action

 

Categories